Breaking News

Saturday, 8 July 2017

122 countries adopt 'historic' UN treaty to ban nuclear weapons

122 countries approved the first-ever treaty to ban nuclear weapons at the UN meeting boycotted by all nuclear-armed nations. One country the Netherlands voting against while Singapore abstained.

None of the nine countries that possess nuclear weapons the United States, Russia, Britain, China, France, India, Pakistan, North Korea and Israel took part in the negotiations or the vote. Even Japan the only country to have suffered atomic attacks, in 1945 boycotted the talks as did most NATO countries.

Important Takeaways from Above News-
  • Japan had suffered the Nuclear attack in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945 during Second World War.
Source- The Indian Express

No comments:

Post a Comment