31 July 2017

Japanese, Sri Lankan among Magsaysay award winners

Japanese, Sri Lankan among Magsaysay award winners

Yoshiaki Ishizawa, a Japanese historian who helped Cambodians preserve the Angkor temples, and Gethsie Shanmugam, a Sri Lankan teacher who counseled war widows and orphans to overcome their nightmares, are among the six winners of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Awards.

The other recipients named are Abdon Nababan, an Indonesian, a Singaporean businessman Tony Tay, a Philippine theater group and Lilia de Lima , a Filipino.

Important Takeaways from Above News-
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.
  • It is regarded as Asia’s version of the Nobel Prize and was first awarded in the year 1958.

Source- The Hindu

Post a Comment

Whatsapp Button works on Mobile Device only

Start typing and press Enter to search