Breaking News

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

2017 Nobel Physics Prize Awarded to Gravitational Wave Detectors

The 2017 Nobel Physics Prize has been awarded “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves” to Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory.

The Prize announced by Sweden’s Royal Academy of Sciences comes with 9 million kronor ($1.1 million). For the past 25 years, the prize has been shared among multiple winners.

Important Takeaways from Above News-
  • The 2016 prize went to three British-born researchers who applied the mathematical discipline of topology to help understand the workings of exotic matter such as superconductors and superfluids. 
  • The 2017 Nobel medicine prize went to three Americans studying circadian rhythms better known as body clocks- Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young.
Source- The Hindu

No comments:

Post a Comment