All About Australian Open 2016

The 2016 Australian Open was a tennis tournament that took place at Melbourne Park, Victoria, Australia between 18–31 January 2016. It was the 104th edition of the Australian Open, and the first Grand Slam tournament of the year. The tournament consisted of events for professional players in singles, doubles and mixed doubles play. Junior and wheelchair players competed in singles and doubles tournaments.

The tournament was run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and was part of the 2016 ATP World Tour and the 2016 WTA Tour calendars under the Grand Slam category. The tournament consisted of both men’s and women’s singles and doubles draws as well as a mixed doubles event. There were singles and doubles events for both boys and girls (players under 18), which was part of the Grade A category of tournaments, and also singles, doubles and quad events for men’s and women’s wheelchair tennis players as part of the NEC tour under the Grand Slam category.
The tournament was first introduced in 1905, although it was originally known as the Australian Championships. It didn’t take on its new name, the Australian Open, until 1969. 
Amazingly the youngest and oldest ever winner of the men’s Australian Open is the same person, Ken Rosewall. He won the tournament at the age of 18 in 1953 and also at the age of 37 in 1972. The youngest women’s winner of the Australian Open is Martina Hingis who became champion in 1997 at the tender age of 16. Prior to the open era being introduced in 1969 (a year later than the other 3 Grand Slams), Roy Emerson won the tournament a record 6 times. Since the inception of the open era, which is when the tournament was opened to professionals, three players, Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic, have all won the tournament 4 times. Margaret Court has won the tournament a total of 11 times, but only 4 times since the open era. Serena Williams can boast 5 titles since the open era began. So lets take a look on the winner of this season.
List of winner of 2016 Australian Open as follow:- 
1. Men’s Singles : N. Djokovic defeated Andy Murray 
2. Men’s Doubles : J. Murray / B. Soares defeated Daniel Nestor / Radek Stepanek
3. Women’s Singles : A. Kerber defeated Serena Williams 
4. Women’s Doubles : M. Hingis / S. Mirza defeated  Andrea Hlaváčková /  Lucie Hradecká,
5. Mixed Doubles : Russia Elena Vesnina / Brazil Bruno Soares defeated United States Coco Vandeweghe / Romania Horia Tecău


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *