Andhra Pradesh joins UDAY scheme

Under the scheme of UDAY (Ujwal DISCOM Assurance Yojana), Andhra Pradesh State govt, Central govt and DISCOMs of Andhra Pradesh signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in Vijyawada for financial turnaround of the DISCOMs.

The MoU was signed by Dr A.K. Verma, JS (Distribution), Ministry of Power, Ajay Jain Principle Secretary (Energy), AP, H Y Dora CMD, Southern Power Distribution Company of A.P. Ltd (APSPDCL) and Muthyala Raju, CMD, Eastern Power Distribution Company of Andhra Pradesh Limited (APEPDCL) in presence of Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh N. Chandrababu Naidu and Piyush Goyal, Union Minister for Power, Coal and New & Renewable Energy.

Under UDAY, twelve states have signed MoU till date. Andhra Pradesh has signed the MoU as the thirteenth State to be covered under UDAY. The combined DISCOM debt (including CPSU dues) that would be restructured in respect of these states is around Rs.2.16 lakh crore, which is half of the total outstanding DISCOM debt as on 30th September, 2015. The Union Minister also formally launched Andhra Pradesh State Energy Efficiency Development Corporation (APSEEDCO) an Energy Efficiency consultancy in collaboration with Central govt, unit started by the AP government.

So let’s do:
1. Name the state, which has joined UDAY scheme as 13th member?
2. Who is the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh?
Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *