Assam Assembly Election 2016 Results : Sarbananda Sonowal all set to become CM of Assam

In Assam Assembly Election 2016, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance partners have won an absolute majority by winning 87 seats (16.46% votes) in the 126 member House. BJP alone has won 60 seats (29.5% votes) on its own, thus making history by winning an Assam assembly election for the first time. So as result, Union Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal is all set to become the next Chief Minister of Assam.

Mr. Sonowal has won from Majuli seat, defeating his nearest rival by more than 18000 votes. While, Outgoing Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi has won in Titabar seat, with a margin of over 17000 votes and if we talk about the BJP’s ally than Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has won 14 seats (8.1% votes) while another ally Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) has bagged 13 seats (3.9% votes)

This is the 14th Assam legislative assembly which held in two phases on April 4 and 11, 2016 to elect members of the 126 constituencies for the state. Apart from BJP, the Indian National Congress (INC) has won 26 seats (31% votes), while its ally All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won 13 seats (13% votes) and one seat was won be an independent candidate. This time the overall voter’s turnout was 84.72% which is highest in the history of Assam. 

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Which party and its alliance partners have won the 14th Assam Assembly Election 2016 ?
2. Name the person who is all set to become the next Chief Minister of Assam ?

Courtesy : The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *