Australia pacer Clint McKay announces retirement from international cricket

Australian pacer Clint McKay has announced his retirement from international cricket after his first-class team Victoria Bushrangers won the Sheffield Shield tournament. He is expected to continue playing for Sydney Thunder in the lucrative Big Bash League (BBL) and for Leicestershire in the County Championship. McKay, who played in 59 one-day internationals, 6 T20 internationals and a Test for Australia, dismissed Sachin Tendulkar on his ODI debut back in November 2009 in Hyderabad.

Australia national cricket team
The Australia national cricket team represents the country of Australia in international cricket. It is the joint oldest team in Test cricket history, having played in the first ever Test match in 1877.
Captain: Steve Smith

Extra info:
  • The high-point in McKay’s career came when he was named Australia’s ODI player of the year in 2013 in which he took 34 wickets from 24 matches at an average of 27.82. However, a poor series in India in which he fared at an average of 74.50, saw the ‘beginning of the end’ of his cricket career.
  • McKay’s best moment while playing for his country cme in Cardiff in 2013, when he removed Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott and Joe Root in successive deliveries to complete his first hat-trick in ODIs.

So lets do:
  • Who is the Australia national cricket team captain?
  • _______ retires from international cricket.

Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *