Bezwada Wilson, TM Krishna Win Ramon Magsaysay Award

Karnataka-born Bezwada Wilson, a prolific campaigner for eradication of manual scavenging in India, and Carnatic singer T M Krishna from Chennai, were chosen for the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016.

Apart from the two Indians, four others have been selected for the award — Conchita Carpio-Morales of the Philippines, Dompet Dhuafa of Indonesia, Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers and ‘Vientiane Rescue’ of Laos. Wilson, the national convenor of the Safai Karmachari Andolan (SKA), got the award for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity and Krishna won the award under the Emergent Leadership category for bringing social inclusiveness in culture. He is a Carnatic music vocalist.
So let’s do:
1. Name the Indians, who have won the Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016?

Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *