Brijbhushan Sharan Singh Appointed As President Of SAWF

Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) chief Brijbhushan Sharan Singh has been appointed as the president of the South Asian Wrestling Federation (SAWF), it was announced on Monday. 

During the General Body Meeting of South Asian Wrestling Federation held on February 5 here at the 12th SAF Games, Singh was unanimously elected as the president. Tabiur Rehman from Bangladesh was also unanimously elected Secretary General.

The House unanimously authorized Singh to appoint one joint secretary from India, a treasurer from Afghanistan and one executive member from each South Asia Foundation (SAF) countries. Apart from the two members, Chawdhury Mohd. Ajgar of Pakistan, U.H. Neville Pdmashri from Sri Lanka and Raj Mohammed Ansari of Nepal were elected vice presidents.

Brijbhushan was elected to the 10th Lok Sabha from Gonda constituency in Uttar Pradesh state as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate in 1991. He was re-elected to the 13th Lok Sabha in 1999 from the same constituency. He was re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha from Balrampur constituency in Uttar Pradesh state on the BJP ticket in 2004.

After a hiatus from the party, he rejoined the BJP months before the 16th general election. In April 2012, Brijbhushan was elected unopposed as the president of the WFI as no other candidate filed nomination for the post.

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *