Cabinet approves Rs 4,500 crore to boost development projects in North-East

Cabinet has approved Schemes of North Eastern Council (NEC) including the continuation of existing Schemes. It will boost the development projects in North-East. Four thousand five hundred crore rupees have been approved for the scheme for three years up to March 2020.

The Scheme of NEC- Special Development Project will be changed to be a Central Sector Scheme with 100 percent grant.

Static/Current Takeaways Important for NABARD Grade-A Exam 2018-
  • The Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region is a Government of India ministry, established in September 2001.
  • Jitendra Singh is the Minister of State (MoS)(Independent Charge) for the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region.
  • North-East India comprises eight states: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, and Tripura.
Source- All India Radio (AIR News)