Cabinet Approves Rs 7,000 crore for Construction of Six IIT Campuses

The Union Cabinet has approved over Rs 7,000 crore for construction of permanent campuses of six new Indian Institute of Technology (IITs) across the country.

Each of the permanent campuses to be established at Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Palakkad (Kerala), Dharwad (Karnataka), Jammu (Jammu and Kashmir), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh) and Goa will have a facility for housing 1,200 students from the academic year 2020-2021.

Important Takeaways from Above News for IBPS PO Mains Exam-
  • Human Resource Development Minister is Prakash Javadekar. 
  • Currently, these institutions are functioning from temporary campuses with a total strength of 1,530 students.
  • IIT Kharagpur was the first in India to be established in 1951.

Source- The Indian Express