Chadian President Idriss Deby wins fifth term

Chad’s veteran leader Idriss Deby has won a fifth term in office after taking more than 60 per cent of the vote in the first round of presidential polls.

Opposition leader Saleh Kebzabo finished at second position with 12.80% of the vote followed by Laokein Kourayo Mbaiherem with 10.60%. For the first time, he became President of Chad, a central African country in 1990 after overthrowing President Hissène Habré in a military coup.

Earlier he had won the elections in 1996 and 2001 and again in 2006 and 2011 after 2 term limits of President were eliminated.Currently he is also Chairperson of the African Union (AU) and was elected by the Assembly of Heads of State of AU in January 2016 for one year term.

Extra info:
1. Chad Capital – N’Djamena
2. Chad Currency – Central African CFA franc
So lets do:
1. Who is the Chadian President?
2. What is the currency of Chad?

Source – The Economic Times


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *