Dnipro FC Wins 2016 Nagjee International Club Football Tournament

Ukraine’s Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk Football Club (FC) has won the 2016 Sait Nagjee International Club Football Tournament in Kozhikode. The goalscorers on the evening were Ihor Kohut (40′), Denys Balanuik (62′) and Yuri Vakulko (85′).

The Ukrainian FC also created a record in the Sait Nagjee tournament that was brought alive after 21 years with Ronaldinho inaugurating the same, as they scored the most number of goals in the championship (10) and also kept a clean sheet in all their three games.

With this victory, Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk became first European team to win this prestigious Football tournament held in India. In summit clash played at the EMS Corporation stadium at Kozhikode (Kerala), Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk FC defeated Brazilian FC Atletico Paranaense by 3-0 goals. For the Ukrainian FC, three goals were scored by Ihor Kohut (40th minute), Denys Balanuik (62nd minute) and Yuri Vakulko (85th minute). 

It was 36th edition of the tournament and the first edition after 1995 when it was stopped. In this edition, total 8 clubs from Latin America, Germany and Europe had participated. The tournament was established in 1952 and since then it was very popular and had attracted large crowd. The Sait Nagjee Trophy International Club Football-2016 has launched with eight teams from different countries participating in the 15-day tournament.

So lets discuss some questions related to this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Which team has won the 2016 Nagjee International Club Football Tournament ?
2. The 2016 Nagjee International Club Football Tournament held at which place ?

Courtesy : Business Standard


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *