Election Commission Announces Assembly Election In 4 States & 1 Union Territory

The Election Commission today announced the schedule for Assembly polls in four statesWest Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and for Union Territory Puducherry. The Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi has announced the election date today in New Delhi.

In Assam, elections will be held in two phases – April 4 and 11. In West Bengal, it will be held on April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25, 30 April, and May 5. In Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala, the elections will be held on May 16. Counting of votes for all five states will be done on May 19.

The elections will also see for the first time a symbol, which has been created by the National School of Design, allotted to NOTA (None of the above) that will be placed at the bottom of the list of candidates. And If possible polling centers will be set up in blind schools, leprosy centers to ensure inclusiveness.

This time all the polls will have Mobile squads with GPS-fitted vehicles and will be accompanied by central forces to ensure that they quickly attend to complaints. There will be exclusive polling stations for differently-abled voters.

With the announcement of election dates, the model code of conduct has come into immediate force. 

So lets discuss some questions about this post which can be asked in the upcoming exams:
1. Name the states in which assembly election is going to held between 4th April to 16th May ?
2. Who is the Chief Election Commissioner of India ?
3. Expand the term NOTA.  

Courtesy : The Hindu 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *