Ex SC Judge Balbir Singh Chauhan Appointed As Chairman Of 21st Law Commission Of India

The Union Government has appointed the former Supreme Court Judge justice Balbir Singh Chauhan as the Chairman of 21st Law Commission of India (LCI). The announcement has made after six month of delay because The post has been lying vacant since last September when the commission was constituted. Currently he is Chairman of the Cauvery River Water Disputes Tribunal.

He was judge of the SC from May 2009 to July 2014. He also had served as Chief Justice of Orissa high court from July 2008 to May 2009. Apart from him, Union Government has appointed former judge of the Gujarat high court Justice Ravi R Tripathi as member of 21st Law Commission of India. He retired as judge last May.

The 21st LCI will give its major recommendations on a review of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), the criminal justice system and the bail law in order to ensure uniformity in the procedure of granting the relief. While LCI is a non-statutory and non-constitutional body constituted by the Union Government from time to time.

The first commission was constituted in 1955 and since then various commissions were re-constituted every three years. It is usually headed by a retired Supreme Court judge or former Chief Justice of a high court. So far, various Law Commissions have submitted 262 reports to make important contribution towards codification and progressive development of laws of the country. The 20th LCI was headed by Justice A P Shah, Former Chief Justice (CJ) of Delhi High Court and its tenure ended on 31 August, 2015.

One of the key issues pending before the law panel is a call on amending the Indian Penal Code amid allegations of abuse and arbitrary use of the law. The Law Ministry had urged the Commission to study the usage of the provisions of Section 124A (Sedition) of the IPC.

Extra Info :
Chief Justice Of India : T S Thakur

So lets discuss some questions related to this post which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the person who has been appointed as the Chairman of 21st law commission of India ?
2. Expand the term LCI & IPC ?
3. The 20th LCI was headed by whom ?
4. Who has been appointed as the member of 21st LCI ?

Courtesy : The Hindu 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *