FAO Designates 14 New Sites As GIAHS

Since 2016, fourteen new sites have been designated as Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS), including the first ones in Europe. As with other designated sites, these systems highlight agricultural traditions that promote sustainability, safeguard biodiversity and protect the environment while supporting the social and economic development necessary for stable, decent livelihoods. 

The 14 new sites range from oases to rice terraces, wasabi cultivation to raisin production. The 14 new sites are:
  1. Siwa Oasis, Egypt 2016. 
  2. Chinampa Agriculture in the World Natural and Cultural Heritage Zone in Xochimilco, Tláhuac and Milpa Alta, Mexico 2017. 
  3. Zhagana Agriculture -Forest-Animal Husbandry Composite System, China 2017. 
  4. Huzhou Mulberry-dyke & Fish Pond System, China 2017. 
  5. Osaki Kodo’s Traditional Water Management System for Sustainable Paddy Agriculture, Japan 2017. 
  6. Nishi-Awa Steep Slope Land Agriculture System, Japan 2018. 
  7. Traditional Hadong Tea Agrosystem in Hwagae-myeon, Republic of Korea 2017. 
  8. The Agricultural System of Valle Salado de Añana, Spain 2017. 
  9. Malaga Raisin Production System in La Axarquía, Spain 2017. 
  10. The Cascaded Tank-Village System, Sri Lanka 2017. 
  11. Rice Terraces in Southern Mountainous and Hilly Areas, China 2018.  
  12. Xiajin Yellow River Old Course Ancient Mulberry Grove System, China 2018. 
  13. Traditional Wasabi Cultivation in Shizuoka, Japan 2018.
  14. Barroso Agro-sylvo-pastoral System, Portugal 2018.
Source- fao.org


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *