Fourth unit of NTPC-Bihar govt owned 195-Mw plant synchronised

The 4th unit of 195-Mw Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Station (MTPS) has been successfully synchronised with the national grid.

The plant is owned by Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Ltd, a joint venture between NTPC and Bihar State Power Generation Company Ltd, in which the two companies have 64.57% and 35.43% shares. First unit of 110 Mw at MTPS started generation in November, 2013, while the second unit of 110 Mw started generation in November, 2014, after successful renovation and modernisation work carried out by BHEL. Both the units, each of 110 Mw, had stopped generation in 2003.

The plant, which is being constructed at the existing site of an old power plant, would draw water from the river Burhi Gandak. It would get coal supply from a coal block of Central Coalfield Ltd located in Jharkhand.


NTPC Limited (previously known as National Thermal Power Corporation Limited) is an Indian central Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) under the Ministry of Power, Government of India, engaged in the business of generation of electricity and allied activities.

It is a company incorporated under the Companies Act 1956 and a “Government Company” within the meaning of the act. The headquarters of the company is situated at New Delhi. NTPC’s core business is generation and sale of electricity to state-owned power distribution companies and State Electricity Boards in India. The company also undertakes consultancy and turnkey project contracts that involve engineering, project management, construction management and operation and management of power plants.
Recently NTPC in New:
NTPC  has been conferred the Research Investor Communication Award among the “Large Corporates” category .Director Finance of the Company Shri K. Biswal, received the award at a ceremony held at BSE in Mumbai

This award is bestowed for following transparent and fair communication practices by Research Bytes in an independent poll having participation of over 3000 Fund Managers/Analysts/Non Institutional Investors. The award NTPC’s effort on building a strong ecosystem based on consistent and regular communication with investors across the globe in a fair and transparent manner.
Extra info:
National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) Chairman and Managing Director Gurdeep Singh.
NTPC has also ventured into oil and gas exploration and coal mining activities. It is the largest power company in India with an electric power generating capacity of 45,548 MW.
Bihar Chief Minister – Nitish Kumar
Bihar governor – Ram Nath Kovind
Ministry of Power, Government of India – Piyush Goyal

So lets do:
  • Who is the CMD of NTPC?
  • In which state NTPC setup 4th unit of 195-Mw?
  • Who is the Governor of Bihar?
  • Indian central Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) NTPC comes Under Which ministry?

Source – Business-Standard

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *