Government has proposed setting up of 4 major ports

The Minister of State for Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan has stated that the Government has proposed four new major ports to be set up. These ports will be set up at Enayam in Tamil Nadu, Sagar in West Bengal, Dugarajpatnam in Andhra Pradesh and Vadhawan in Maharashtra. And for setting up of Enayam Port in Tamil Nadu, Cabinet has also approved.

As India has a coastline spanning 7516.6 kilometers, forming one of the biggest peninsulas in the world. According to the Ministry of Shipping, around 95 per cent of India’s trading by volume and 70 per cent by value is done through maritime transport. It is serviced by 13 major ports, 200 notified minor and intermediate ports

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post:
1. How many major ports are going to set up by the government of India?
2. Who is the Minister of State for Shipping?

Courtesy: PTI News


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *