Hockey India Annual Awards : Sreejish And Deepika Won Hockey Player Of The Year

Deepika and PR Sreejesh has won the Dhruv Batra Player of the Year Award for Women and Men respectively at the Hockey India (HI) Annual Awards. The award has been given in the 2nd Hockey India Annual Awards ceremony for 2015. The best hockey players in India and former greats of the game came together for the awards, whose total prize money was in excess of Rs.2 crore.

Apart from them Late Captain Shankar Laxman has won the coveted Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award, Mr. Baldev Singh for Invaluable Contribution, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy for Outstanding Achievement etc. 

The first set of awards marking important milestones in the careers of players were presented to Dharamvir Singh, Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra and Sushila Chanu for making 100 appearances for India. They were also presented with a cheque of Rs.50,000. While Mr. Gurbaj Singh and V.R. Raghunath were awarded for turning out in India colours 200 times and were presented with a cheque of Rs.1 lakh each.

The second set of awards were given in recognition of individual achievements for goal on debut and the awardee were Devindar Walmiki, Harjeet Singh, Nilam Xess, Mohammad Umar, Gaganpreet Singh and Preeti Dubey. Apart from that Mr. Raghuprasad RV was also felicitated for making his 100th appearance as an umpire internationally at the 2015 Hockey World League (HWL) Semi-Final in Belgium. The winners of the Individual Achievement Award received a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh each.
Extra Info :
  • Chairman Of Hockey India League : Narinder Dhruv Batra
  • The veteran Deepika was recognised for her work in defence as the Indian women’s team qualified for the Olympic Games after a gap of 36 years.
  • Sreejesh notably played a starring role in India’s shoot-out victory over Holland in the bronze-medal match at the HWL Final and has also picked up the Fan’s Choice Award

So now lets discuss some questions related to this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the persons who have won the Hockey player of the year award for 2015 ?
2. Who has won the Major Dhyan Chand Life Time Achievement Award ?
3. Expand the HI and HWL and who is the chairman of Hockey India League ?

Courtesy : The Hindu 


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *