I&B Minister gives away 5th National Photography Awards

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Minister Arun jaitley gives away 5th National Photography Awards. Addressing the event Union Minister Jaitley said our impression of personalities and historical events are based on visuals and a good photograph has an indefinite life.

Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting, Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore and Secretary I&B, Shri Sunil Arora were also present on the occasion. Shri Arun Jaitley and Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore also felicitated the winners of the 5th National Photography Awards.
The Minister lauded the professional work of Shri Bhawan Singh who was given the Life Time Achievement Award for this year, recalling his excellence in capturing the visual journey of India from late 70s.Shri Bhawan Singh has worked in the Indian news industry for over five decades and is one of the senior photo journalist in the country. His career which started in a newspaper has been built mostly around magazines. He worked as Magazine Photo Editor with India Today magazine. He is a recipient of the World Press Photo Award.

The total number of awards in the various categories were thirteen.

  • The various categories included Professional Photographer of the Year, Special Mention Award (Professional), Amateur Photographer of the Year, Special Mention Award (Amateur).
  • The Professional Photographer Award of the year was given to Shri Javed Ahmed Dar who trains his lens on pictures of human interest. His photographs have appeared in prestigious international publications.
  • Shri Himanshu Thakur was given the Amateur Photographer of the year award. He is a photo enthusiast who captures people’s emotions, expressions and city scapes.
  • Shri Jaitley also released the brochure for the 5th National Photography Awards which profiles the awardees and their work.
  • The Jury for the 5th National Photography Awards was a six member committee headed by Shri Ashok Dilwale. The other members of the Jury included Shri K. Madhavan Pillai, Shri SudharakOlwe, Shri H.Satish, Shri GurinderOsan and Shri SanjivMisra.

World Photography Organisation (WPO)

The World Photography Organisation (WPO) is an international organisation which manages various initiatives for amateur and professional photographers. Incorporated as World Photography Awards Limited, the organisation hosts the annual Sony World Photography Awards and the subsequent World Photography Festival, exhibiting the work of winning photographers in each category. Sponsored by Sony, the awards took place in Cannes since 2008 and moved to London in 2011.

The World Photography Awards are organised annually by WPO. They were launched in 2008[1] and are currently sponsored by Sony. The competition has three entry levels; Student, Open and Professional, each with a number of subcategories.

The overall winner of the Professional category is awarded with the Iris d’Or, a cash prize and the title “Sony World Photographer of the Year” at the Awards ceremony which takes place in London. The award ceremony is part of the larger World Photography Festival and features exhibitions, workshops, portfolio review, student programmes and talks from World Photographic Academy members, culminating in the award ceremony.

Extra info:
  • The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting is a branch of the Government of India is the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws relating to information, broadcasting, the press and films in India.

So lets do:
  • Who is the Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting of India?
  • Who is the Union Ministet of Information and Broadcasting Minister of India?
  • Photojournalist Javed Dar winner of  Professional Photographer Award 2016 belongs to which state?

Source – The Hindu

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *