India And France Sign MoU For Construction Of 6 Nuclear Reactors In Maharastra

India and France have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) for construction of six nuclear reactors at Jaitapur in Maharashtra. The agreement was inked at the end of the two-day visit of a high level delegation of Electricite de France (EDF) French public utility and the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL) on the construction of the plants.

The MoU has signed after the two countries had decided to conclude the techno-commercial negotiations for the Jaitapur project by the end of 2016. The road map of this MoU was finalised during the official state Visit of French President Francois Hollande to India in January 2016. EDF is France’s public electricity producer and supplier.

The Jaitapur nuclear power project is a 9900 MW power project with consisting of 6 European Pressurised Reactors (EPR) of 1650 MW each. The project is proposed by Nuclear Power Corporation of India (NPCIL) at Madban village of Ratnagiri district in Maharashtra. 

France is going to supply technology for construction and also nuclear fuel for 25 years for this plant and after completion of this plant it will become the largest nuclear power station in the whole world by net electrical power rating.

Extra Info :
France President : Francois Hollande
French Ambassador to India Francois Richier
France Capital : Paris

So now lets discuss some questions about this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the country who has signed MoU with India for the construction of 6 nuclear reactors ?
2. The six nuclear reactors power plant is going to come up in which state of India ?
3. Expand the term EDF, EPR and NPCIL ?

Courtesy : Economic Times 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *