India and South Africa sign MoUs in four areas of co-operation

India and South Africa have signed memorandums of understanding (MoUs) in four areas of co-operation. The MoUs have been signed after a delegation-level talks headed by Prime Minister Narendara Modi and South African President Jacob Zuma in Pretoria, South Africa. The first MoU is on cooperation in the area of information and communication technology. Another MoU calls for cooperation in the tourism sector and is being seen as an important bid to improve people-to-people ties. A third MoU calls for cooperation in grassroots innovation in the science and technology sector. While the fourth agreement has been signed for a programme of cooperation in arts and culture.

The two countries have also agreed to cooperate in combating terrorism, regionally and globally. Modi arrived in South Africa from Mozambique on the second leg of his four-nation tour of Africa. This is Modi’s first official visit to mainland Africa and is also the first prime ministerial visit from India to South Africa since the then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh arrived in 2013 for the G20 summit in Durban. Apart from Mozambique and South Africa, Modi will also visit Tanzania and Kenya.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. India and South Africa have signed MoUs in which four area of co-operation?
2. Who is the President of South Africa?

Courtesy: PMO India


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *