India Joins Ashgabat Agreement

India has joined Ashgabat Agreement on the establishment of an International Transport and Transit Corridor between the Iran, Oman, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The agreement was signed in 2011, which envisages facilitation of transit and transportation of goods between Central Asia and the Persian Gulf. 

According to the External Affairs Ministry, the accession to the Agreement would diversify India’s connectivity options with Central Asia and have a positive influence on its trade and commercial ties with the region.
Static/Current Takeaways Important for Canara Bank PO 2018 Exam-

  • Iran Capital- Tehran, Currency- Iranian rial.
  • Oman Capital- Muscat, Currency- Omani rial.
  • Turkmenistan Capital- Ashgabat, Currency- Turkmenistan manat.
  • Uzbekistan Capital – Tashkent, Currency- Uzbekistani som.
Source- AIR World Service