India, Pakistan Become Full Members Of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

India and Pakistan became full members of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), the first-ever expansion of the China-dominated security grouping after 2001. With the inclusion of India and Pakistan, SCO now represents over 40% of world population and nearly 20% of the global GDP.

2017 SCO summit was based on the theme “Future Energy”. The document was signed at Astana, Kazakhstan during the SCO Summit. (SCO) member-states viz. China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
Important Takeaways from above News-
  • The SCO was founded at a Summit in Shanghai in 2001 by the Presidents of Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
  • SCO is regarded as a counterweight to the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO).

Source- The Indian Express

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *