India Re-Elected As Observer To ‘Arctic Council’

India was re-elected as Observer to the Arctic Council, an intergovernmental forum. The decision was taken during the 11th Arctic Council ministerial meeting at Rovaniemi, Finland.

The Council also appointed the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) as a new Observer. India successfully got the Observer status in 2013 during the Kiruna Ministerial meeting held in Sweden.

Source- The Livemint

Static/Current Takeaways Important For SBI Mains 2019:

  • The Arctic Council, a high level intergovernmental organisation set up in 1996 to promote cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States and protect the Arctic environment.
  • The Arctic Council is formed of eight circumploar countries- Norway, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, Canada, US and Russia.
  • India has its Arctic research station ‘Himadri’ in Svalbard, Norway since 2008.

Find More National News Here

हिंदी में पढ़े


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *