Italy to Host G-7 Interior Ministers’ Summit on Security

Italy will host a summit of G-7 interior ministers centered on security issues in the fall. According to Italian Interior Minister Marco Minniti, the meeting is being organized at the request of Italy’s G-7 partners: Canada, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Japan and the United States.

Italy currently holds the rotating helm of the Group of Seven industrialized nations. The summit is expected to be held in October 2017.

About G-7 in Brief-
  1. Originally the group comprised six members- France, Italy, West Germany, Japan, United Kingdom and the United States.
  2. It was founded in 1975.
  3. Canada became the seventh member to begin attending the summits in 1976, after which the name ‘Group 7’ or G7 Summit was used.
  4. Russia formally joined the group in 1998, resulting in the creation of a new governmental political forum, the Group of Eight or G8.
  5. However, Russia was eliminated from the group in 2014 after it annexed the Ukrainian territory of Crimea.
Source- The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *