Jews to get minority status in Maharashtra after Cabinet approves proposal

The Maharashtra Cabinet led by Devendra Fadnavis has approved the minority status to Jew community. The decision will benefit the students from these communities to avail scholarships from the state government on 21 June 2016.

After getting the minority status, the Jews in the state will be entitled to use benefits of government schemes meant for minorities and can also apply in educational institutions under the minority status. The people of this community will now be able to easily get their marriage registrations done in Maharashtra. Presently, there are six notified minority communities in India – Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, Sikhs, Parsis and Jains. 

As per the 2001 Census, the number of Jews living in India was 4650 with 2466 of them living in Maharashtra. The Jews have been a part of the Indian society for over 2300 years now. The Jews of Manipur and Mizoram identify themselves as Beni Menashe. There are also some in Andhra Pradesh who call themselves Bene Ephraim Jews.

So let’s do:
1. Name the state, which has approved the minority status to Jew community?

Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *