Justice Dipak Misra to be next Chief Justice of India

The Union government appointed Justice Dipak Misra as the next Chief Justice of India. He will be replacing incumbent Justice J S Khehar, who is set to retire on August 27, 2017.

It was Khehar who had recommended Misra’s name to succeed him as the next Chief Justice of India. Justice Misra will be sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of India by President Ram Nath Kovind on August 27. Justice Misra will retire on October 2, 2018.
Important Takeaways from Above News-
  • Justice H.J Kania was the first Chief Justice of India.
Source- The Times of India