K B Koliwad elected as Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Mr. K B Koliwad has unanimously elected as the Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah proposed his name, seconded by Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs J B Jayachandra. Mr. K B Koliwad is 72 years old and represents Ranebennur constituency in Haveri Taluk.

The speaker post of Karnataka Legislative fell vacant after incumbent Kagodu Thimmappa resigned following his induction into the cabinet as revenue minister on June 19. Koliwad was the lone MLA to file his nomination papers for the post of the Speaker. Koliwad, Chairman of the House committee to study lake encroachments, will be the 20th Speaker of the Lower House.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Name the person who has been elected as the speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly?
2. Mr. Koliwad has replaced whom as the speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly?

Courtesy: The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *