Kalikho Pul Sworn In As Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister

Congress Leader, Kalikho Pul, 46, has sworn in as the 9th Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh after Governor JP Rajkhowa used his discretionary powers to appoint him. He was administered oath to the office and secrecy by Governor in a simple function at Raj Bhawan in Itanagar.

Pul’s swearing-in came a day after the Supreme Court vacated its interim order to maintain status quo in the Arunachal Pradesh assembly, paving the way for government formation. Earlier Kalikho Pul was in Congress Party and had served as State Finance Minister from 2003 until 2007 in the Government led by then Chief Minister Gegong Apang. 

Pul, a 5 time MLA, had led a delegation of 31 MLAs and met Rajkhowa in Itanagar to stake claim to form the government. Pul has the support of only 18 of the 45 Congress MLAs in the assembly. But 13 opposition MLAs from the BJP have given in writing to the Governor that they back him. The total strength of the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly is 50 seats.
Extra Info :
Arunachal Pradesh Governor : J P Rajkhowa
Replaced : Nabam Tuki
Capital : Itanagar
So lets discuss some questions related to this post which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the new Governor of Arunachal Pradesh .
2. Name the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh .
3. Nabam Tuki, Ex CM of Arunachal Pradesh has been replaced by whom ?

Courtesy : The Hindu 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *