Kerala Assembly Election 2016 Results: LDF set to return to power

The 2016 Kerala Assembly Election has won by the CPI (M) led Left Democratic Front (LDF) by the absolute majority by winning 91 seats (44.94% votes) of the total 140 seats. Among the LDF, Communist Party of India (Marxist) by winning 58 seats has emerged single largest party. Other LDF allies have won Communist Party of India-19 seats, Janata Dal (Secular)-3 seats, Nationalist Congress Party-2 seats, Other LDF supporters-9 seats. However, the LDF is yet to announce the name of the next Chief Minister of Kerala. Although either veteran leader VS Achuthanandan or politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan will be the next CM of the states

While, the United Democratic Front (UDF) led by outgoing Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has emerged as largest opposition front. It has won total 47 seats (45.83% votes). Party wise result is as follows Indian National Congress-22 seats, Indian Union Muslim League-18 seats, Kerala Congress (M)-6 seats, Kerala Congress (Jacob)-1 seat.

If we talk about BJP than it has created the history in Kerala election as it has managed to open an account in Kerala by winning single seat from the Nemom constituency, a suburb of state capital Thiruvananthapuram. The seat was won by former Union minister O Rajagopal, who won by over 8000 votes. He becomes first BJP MLA in Kerala’s 140-member assembly. Overall the BJP was able to secure 10.60% votes in this election. 

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Name the party which has won the Kerala Assembly Election 2016 ?
2. Name the BJP politician, Who has created the history by winning single seat in Kerala Assembly Election ?

Courtesy : DD News


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *