Mahesh Kumar Singla Committee Constituted To Consider ST Status To 6 Communities Of Assam

Committee set up to consider ST status to six Communities of Assam  The Government has set up a Committee headed by Shri Mahesh Kumar Singla, Special Secretary (Internal Security), Ministry of Home Affairs to recommend the modalities for granting of Scheduled Tribe status to six Communities namely Koch Rajbongshi, Moran, Matak, Tai Ahom, Chutia and Adivasi (Tea Tribes) in Assam.

The Committee shall in consultation with the Government of Assam suggest the modalities for the required reservations, of shifting the existing reservation for these communities from OBC to ST, protecting the interests of existing tribes, a mechanism to ensure fairness of reservations within these six communities and related security considerations.  The Committee shall submit its report by May 31, 2016.

Extra info:
  • The committee has been constituted by Union Home Ministry in consultation with the Government of Assam. It has been tasked to recommend the modalities for granting of Scheduled Tribe status for the required reservations to the 6 Communities in Assam.

So lets do:
  • Mukesh Kumar Singhla Committee is related to?
  • Mukesh Kumar Singhla committee constituted for which state six Communities ?

Source – The HIndu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *