Malta’s Valletta Becomes Europe’s Capital of Culture

Valletta, the capital of Malta, was officially named European Capital of Culture 2018. Valletta will share the title with Leeuwarden, a city in the Netherlands.

Notably, the ‘European Capitals of Culture’ initiative aims to highlight the diversity of European culture and to increase the citizens’ sense of belonging to a common cultural area.
Static/Current Takeaways Important for Syndicate Bank PO 2018 Exam-
  • Valletta is the smallest capital in the European Union.
  • It is located in a fortress and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 
Source- Daily Mail