Margaret Atwood wins 2016 Pen Pinter Prize

Renowned Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist Margaret Atwood has been chosen for the prestigious 2016 Pen Pinter PrizeShe will receive the award at a public event scheduled to be held on 13 October 2016 at the British Library, London and after receiving this award, Atwood will be responsible for helping to choose the recipient of the International Writer of Courage prize, which goes to writers who have faced and ought persecution.

The PEN Pinter Prize is an annual literary award given to a British writer or a writer resident in Britain of outstanding literary merit. It was founded in 2009. The award is bestowed writer who has shown a fierce intellectual determination to define the real truth of our lives and our societies. The award is sponsored by PEN International affiliates. Apart from this, she has already won the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature and Arthur C. Clarke Award. She was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times and had won it once. In 2001, she was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Name the novelist who has won the 2016 Pen Pinter Prize?
2. Margaret Atwood is a poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist of which country?

Courtesy: The Guardian

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *