Current Affairs   »   National Florence Nightingale awards 2019

National Florence Nightingale awards 2019

National Florence Nightingale awards 2019_50.1

President of India conferred 36 awardees with the National Florence Nightingale Awards 2019 at an event in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The award was given to Late Lini Sajeesh from Kozhikode, Kerala, who died while on duty caring for a Nipah (NiV) virus-infected patient in Kerala. The award was received by her spouse Sajeesh. Other 35 awardees were Auxiliary Nurse Midwives (ANMs), Lady Health Visitors (LHVs), and nurses from different states and Union Territories (UT).

The Nurses were awarded for their enthusiasm and compassion towards their work in community health centres and hospitals and also their involvement in national health programmes like eradication of polio, malaria and HIV/AIDS.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has declared the year 2020 as the Year of Nurse and Midwife. The year 2020 also marks the 200th birth anniversary of Florence Nightingale, after whom the awards have been named. Florence Nightingale was the founder of modern nursing and has done exemplary work in the nursing field. The Florence Nightingale award was established in the year 1973 by the Government of India to commemorate the exemplary work done by nurses.

Static/Current Takeaways Important For RRB NTPC/SSC CGL:

  • May 12 is observed as the International Day of Nurses.

Source: The Press Information Bureau

Find More Awards News Here

National Florence Nightingale awards 2019_60.1

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *