New Secretaries Appointed

January 2016, National
In Brief:

The NDA government carried out a major reshuffle at the top bureaucratic level, bringing in new Secretaries to steer the crucial Ministries of Agriculture, Telecom and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, indicating a willingness and determination to change course based on performance.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved 10 Secretary level shifts, including four appointments made to fill vacancies arising as the incumbents are about to retire.
Among the most significant changes was the move to replace Telecom Secretary Rakesh Garg with Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS officer J.S. Deepak, who is at present Secretary in the Department of Electronics and Information Technology.
Mr.Garg, one of the first few appointees after the NDA government came to power in May 2014, has been moved to the Minority Affairs Ministry, almost 10 months ahead of his retirement. The 1981 batch officer Amarendra Sinha was holding additional charge as Secretary to the Minority Affairs Ministry till now.
Separately, Krishan Kumar Jalan, a 1982 batch IAS Haryana cadre officer, who was serving as Central Provident Fund Commissioner for over two and a half years, has been 
appointed the new Secretary for the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises. The incumbent, Anup Pujari, is about to retire.
Shobana K Pattanayak, a 1982 batch Karnataka cadre IAS officer, has been appointed Secretary in the Department of Agriculture on the retirement of the incumbent Siraj Hussain. Special Secretary in the Agriculture Department Avinash Srivastava has been promoted as Secretary in the Food Processing Ministry.


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *