NITI Aayog Announced Winners of the Women Transforming India Awards 2017

NITI Aayog, in partnership with MyGov and the United Nations, announced the winners of the Women Transforming India Awards, 2017. Launched on International Women’s Day on 8 March, the contest aimed to gather lesser-own stories of women leading change. Honourable Minister for Textiles and Information and Broadcasting, Smriti Irani has awarded top 12 winners, honoring their courage and role in transforming societies.

Top 6 Contestants-
  1. Laxmi Agarwal- a champion of violence against women.
  2. Safeena Husain- working for girls’ education in India’s most backward districts.
  3. Kamal Kumbhar- enabling women like herself to realize their dreams of a brighter tomorrow.
  4. Subasini Mistry- working for two decades to build a hospital for the needy.
  5. Arunima Sinha– Is the first female amputee to scale the highest mountain in the world.
  6. Jamuna Tudu- has conserved 50 hectares of forest land around her village in Jharkhand
Other 6 runner ups are- Rajlakshmi Borthakur, Harshini Kanhekar, Sunita Kamble, Kiran Kanojia, Shima Modak and Kanika Tekriwal.
Important Takeaways from Above News-
  • Amitabh Kant is the CEO of NITI Aayog.
  • Arvind Panagariya is the present Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog.
Source- Press Information Bureau (PIB)


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *