Punjab Warriors Win 2016 Hockey India League

The Jaypee Punjab Warriors has won the fourth edition of Coal India Hockey India League (HIL) title 2016. The Jaypee Punjab Warriors finally struck gold to become third-time lucky as they clinched their Hockey India League (HIL) title at the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Ranchi.

It was their maiden title. In the final match they defeated Kalinga Lancers by 6-1 goals. In earlier two seasons, Punjab Warriors had finished runners-up after they had lost to Delhi Waveriders in 2014 and to Ranchi Rays in 2015. 

Hockey India League (HIL) is a professional field hockey league in India organized by Hockey India, the governing body for the sport in India. The league was established in 2013 and is sanctioned by International Hockey Federation (FIH). Currently, there are six franchisee based teams having players from India and around the world. 2015 edition of the league was won by Ranchi Rays.

Extra Info : 
Player of the Tournament Award: Rupinder Pal Singh (Delhi Waveriders). 
Man of the Match Award: Mark Knowles (Punjab Warriors) 
Goal of the Match award: Armaan Qureshi (Punjab Warriors). 
Emerging Player of the Match award: Armaan Qureshi. 
Maximum Goals award: Glenn Turner (Kalinga Lancers).
Upcoming Player of the Tournament award: Sumit (Ranchi Rays)

So lets discuss some questions related to this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Which team has won the 4th edition of Coal Hockey India League ?
2. Punjab Warriors has defeated which team to win HIL ?
3. Expand the term HIL and FIH.
Courtesy : Times Of India


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *