Rajnath Singh to inaugurate BRICS drug control meeting

The Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh is going to inaugurate the second anti-drug Working Group meeting of Heads of Drug Control Agencies of BRICS countries in New Delhi todayBesides the delegates from the member countries, the Ambassadors of the respective countries shall also be attending the inaugural session which is being organized by the Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB). The Indian delegation will be headed by Shri Rajeev Rai Bhatnagar, Director General, Narcotics Control Bureau.

In accordance with the ‘eThekwani Declaration’ adopted during the BRICS summit in March 2013 at Durban, South Africa, it was decided to explore, besides economic issues, various new areas of cooperation among the member States, including drug-related issues. It was decided that the heads of anti-drug agencies of the five member countries may meet regularly under the aegis of the BRICS anti-drug working group meeting. In keeping with the spirit of the eThekwani Declaration, the first anti-drug working group meeting of BRICS countries was organized in Moscow, Russia in November 2015The meeting would evaluate the drug abuse situation in the member countries and analyze the legislation’s of BRICS member states as well as devise modalities to share the best practices of enforcement and demand reduction being followed in the member countries. 

Extra Info : The seventh BRICS summit was held in July 2015 in Russia and India shall be hosting the eighth BRICS summit in October 2016 in Goa. 

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Who is going to inaugurate the BRICS drug control meeting and also name the place where the BRICS drug control meeting is going to held?
2. The eight BRICS summit is going to host by which country?

Courtesy: Economic Times

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *