Ratan Tata To Head Indian Railways’ innovation Committee

Suresh Prabhu, Minister of Railway has announced Ratan Tata to head the Indian Railway Innovation Committee. In 2016- 2017 he has announced plans to set up a dedicated cross functional team called Special Unit for Transportation Research and Analytics (Sutra)

The main aim is to carry out detailed analysis leading to optimized investment decisions and operations. The team would comprise professional analysts and best in class decision support systems and optimization engines.

The initiative would be administered by an Innovation Committee comprising reputed investors, representatives from National Academy of Indian Railways, Railway Board and ‘Kayakalp’ headed by Ratan Tata. A program management structure will be put in place to manage this initiative.The official has set aside a sum of Rs 50 crore for providing innovation grants to employees, start-ups and growth oriented small businesses to support all kind of innovations. 

For this year, the areas for the annual challenge are accessibility to trains from low level platforms, increasing capacity of coaches and digital capabilities at stations. In addition to this initiatives, innovation labs will be set up in all the workshops and production units to support creative innovation by locals and staff.
Extra Info :
Minister of Railway : Suresh Prabhu 

So lets discuss some questions related to this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Expand the term SUTRA.
2. Name the person who is heading Kayakalp Committee ?
3. Who is going to head the Indian Railway Innovation Committee ?

Courtesy : Business Standard 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *