Ratan Thiyam Selected For 11th META Lifetime Achievement Award

Veteran playwright and director Ratan Thiyam has been selected for prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016 at the 11th edition of Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META). The award will be given to the theatre guru Ratan Thiyam for creating a new language in theatre and enriching the art form in various roles as writer, director, designer, composer and choreographer.

Currently he is the chairman of the National School of Drama. Prior to him, this award has been given to theatre greats such as Zohra Sehgal, Badal Sarkar, Khaled Chowdhury, Ebrahim Alkazi, Girish Karnad and Heisnam Kanhailal.

META was constituted in the year 2006 by the Mahindra Group. It is a one of the biggest theatre festivals in the country. It is recognize and reward all aspects of theatre production and stage craft. It aims at Theatre Groups from every corner of the nation. It seeks to provide them platform to showcase their excellence in the art form on one stage.

The awards consist of a specially designed trophy and a cheque of 1,00,000 rupees for the best production, 75,000 rupees for best original playwright and 45,000 rupees for all other award categories.

Extra Info : 
Books: Chakravyuha
Awards: Sangeet Natak Akademi award in Direction 
Belongs To : Manipur, India 
Occupation : playwright, theatre director

So lets discuss some questions about this post which can be asked in the asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the theatre director who has been recently selected for the META award ?
2. Expand the term META ?
3. Who is the the Chairman of National School Of Drama ?

Courtesy : The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *