Rio medal winners to be considered for Khel Ratna, Arjuna

The Sports Ministry has stated that the winners from the upcoming Rio Games will be considered for this year’s Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards. The step has been taken to ensure that Olympic medalists get immediate recognition. So that the athletes need not wait for one full year after their medal-winning performances at the Olympic Games.

The medal winners in individual events who have already not been conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in the past will be considered for the highest sporting honour. But as per the existing provisions of the schemes of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards, sports achievements of the sports persons for the last four years preceding the year of award, that means, sports achievements during the period 2011 to 2015 are to be considered.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post :
1. Rio medal winners will be considered for which awards ?
2. The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award is awarded to any sports person after how many years of sports achievements ?

Courtesy : The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *