RS appoints 10 MPs to joint panel on Citizenship (Amendment) Bill

Rajya Sabha has named 10 of its members to the Joint Committee of Parliament on the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016. A resolution moved by Minister of State for Home Affairs Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, on behalf of Home Minister Rajnath Singh, for an appointment of ten of its members to the Joint Committee of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha was carried by a voice vote. The draft bill seeks to help migrants of reportedly all denominations – except Muslims – from the neighboring countries of Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Bangladesh in getting Indian citizenships after a stay of six years.

Members who were nominated to the Committee were Vinay Sahasrabuddhe (BJP), Dilip Pandya (both BJP), P Bhattacharya, Bhubaneswar Kalita (both Cong), Javed Ali Khan (SP), Derek O’ Brien (TMC), Harivansh (JD-U), Prasanna Acharya (BJD), Satish Chandra Mishra (BSP) and Swapan Dasgupta (Nom). After Opposition objections, the Bill was yesterday referred to the Joint Committee after it was moved in Lok Sabha. The Home Minister had then told the Lower House that he agreed with the suggestion of members from all sides to send the bill to the panel.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post:
1. Rajya Sabha has named how many MPs to Joint Committee of Parliament on the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016?
2. Who is the Minister of state for Home Affairs?

Courtesy: Business Standard 


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *