SAARC summit “postponed indefinitely”

Pakistan has officially postponed the 8-nation SAARC summit 2016 , after 5 countries– India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Sri Lanka dropped out of it. The SAARC Summit was scheduled on November 9 and 10 in Islamabad, Pakistan. 

The boycott of the summit had been initiated by PM Narendra Modi, who pulled out citing strained diplomatic relations with Pakistan. Notably, the summit is consensus-based and is automatically cancelled even if one member decides not to attend.

So let’s discuss some questions related to this post:

1. What is the full form of SAARC?
2. How many members should boycott  The SAARC summit to get it cancelled/postponed? 
3. Name the countries, which have boycotted the SAARC summit 2016?
4.  How many countries are there in SAARC?

Source – The Hindu

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *