Sarbananda Sonowal Takes Oath As First BJP CM of Assam

Former Union Minister for Sports & Youth Affairs Sarbanand Sonowal was sworn-in as the First BJP Chief Minister of Assam. The new chief minister and 10 of his ministerial colleagues were taken the oath of office and secrecy by Governor PB Acharya. BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) created history by winning 86 seats in the 126-member Assembly to dethrone the Congress which had ruled the state for the last 15 years.

Sarbananda Sonowal  became state BJP President in 2013 for the first time. He started his political career in 2001 by becoming the member of Assam assembly in Asom Gana Parishad ticket. In 2004, he became Lok Sabha member for the first time by defeating Congress strongman Pawan Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh constituency. 

So let’s do:
1. Who is the Chief minister of Assam ?
2. Who is the Governor of Assam ?

Source – The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *