Current Affairs  »  Search Results for... "label/Awards"

UK’s Commonwealth Points of Light Award won by Kishore Kumar Das

The founder of the educational charity ‘Bidyanando’ Kishore Kumar Das from Bangladesh has been chosen for the United Kingdom’s Commonwealth Points of Light Award for his exceptional work in improving access to education for children from marginalised backgrounds. UK’s Commonwealth Point of Light Awards recognises outstanding individual volunteers who are making a change in their […]

Acko Awarded Coveted Golden Peacock Award 2019 For Innovative Product

ACKO General Insurance a new-age digital insurance company was awarded the coveted Golden Peacock Innovative Product Award – 2019, for their contextual micro insurance product –“Ola Ride Insurance”. The award was presented to Mr. Biresh Giri, Appointed Actuary & CRO, Acko. The award ceremony was held in Dubai. Established by the Institute of Directors, India […]

Swati Chaturvedi Won Press Freedom Award For Courage In UK

An Indian freelance journalist, famous for her investigative reports, has bagged the 2018 London Press Freedom Award for Courage. Swati Chaturvedi, author of the book ‘I am a Troll: Inside the Secret World of the BJP’s Digital Army’, beat shortlisted journalists from Italy, Turkey, and Morocco for her work in exposing the “IT cell” within […]

Clara Sosa Won Miss Grand International 2018 in Myanmar

Miss Paraguay Clara Sosa won the Miss Grand International 2018 title at the 6th edition of the beauty pageant in Yangon, Myanmar.  Clara Sosa succeeds Miss Grand International 2017 Maria Jose Lora of Peru. India’s, FBB Colors Femina Miss Grand India 2018 Meenakshi Chaudhary was named 1st runner-up. Source- Washington Post   Find More Awards […]

Simona Halep Becomes 1st Recipient Of Chris Evert WTA World No.1 Trophy

World number one Simona Halep has become the first recipient of the Chris Evert Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) World No.1 Trophy, named after WTA’s first-ever world number one, Chris Evert. The 27-year-old had lifted her maiden Grand Slam title at the Roland Garros and claimed the WTA Year-End world number one singles award for the […]

Prof. M S Swaminathan Received 1st World Agriculture Prize

Prof. MS Swaminathan, chief architect of India’s Green Revolution was awarded the World Agriculture Prize for 2018. The global Jury of the 1st World Agriculture Prize had made the announcement. The Award was presented by Vice President Naidu at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi at a special session, named “Swaminathan Global Dialogue on Climate Change […]

Roopam Sharma Wins World Health Summit Startup Award in Berlin

Roopam Sharma, a 23-year old Indian scientist, won the World Health Summit Startup award, 2018 for his invention, Manovue – the world’s first intelligent personal assisting system for the visually impaired. Sharma was awarded at an annual event of the health summit in Berlin recently. He is the youngest person to be recognized as one […]

BEML Received Top Challengers’ and Best Mining Equipment Seller Award

Bharat Earth Movers Limited (BEML), a Mini Ratna Public Sector Undertaking, under the Ministry of Defence, received the prestigious ‘Top Challengers Award 2018’ for the excellent performance during the financial year 2017-18 and Best Seller in Crawler Equipment- Dozers and Rigid Dump Truck segment for mining sectors. At a function held at Delhi, CMD BEML […]

Pak Lawyer Asma Jahangir Wins UN Human Rights Prize Posthumously

Pakistan’s human rights activist and lawyer Asma Jahangir has been posthumously awarded the UN Prize along with three other winners. Rebeca Gyumi of Tanzania, Brazil’s first indigenous lawyer Joenia Wapichana and Ireland’s human rights organisation Front Line Defenders are the other winners of the prize. The United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights is […]

Prof Ashis Mukherjee Receives INSA Teachers Award-2018

Prof Ashis Mukherjee, a senior faculty member of the prestigious Tezpur University was awarded the prestigious Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Teachers Award (2018). Mr Mukherjee is Dean, Research and Development, and Head and Coordinator of DBT Nodal Cell for Medical Colleges and Biomedical Research Institutes of NE India. He won the prestigious award for […]