Sergey Karjakin Won 2016 World Chess Candidates Tournament

Sergey Karjakin the Russian grandmaster has won the FIDE World Chess Candidates Tournament held in Moscow. The 26 year old has qualified to challenge Norwegian Sergey Karjakin, Magnus Carlsen for the world chess championship after he pulled off a brilliant rook sacrifice to beat his closest rival, American Fabiano Caruana, in the last round of the Candidates tournament.

The Russian triumphed over the United States’ Fabiano Caruana, whom he played in the last round. Karjakin scored 8.5/14 to finish first in the eight-player tournament, a full point ahead of Caruana and former world champion Vijay Anand of India on 7.5 points.
Sergey Alexandrovich Karjakin is a Ukrainian-born Russian chess grandmaster. He is a former chess prodigy and holds the record for the world’s youngest Grandmaster ever, having qualified for this title at the age of 12 years and 7 months.
He won the 2012 World Rapid Chess Championship and the Chess World Cup 2015. He also won the Norway Chess Tournament twice and the Corus Chess Tournament in 2009. He has competed in six Chess Olympiads, three times for Ukraine and three times for Russia, winning three gold medals, two silver medals and a bronze. He was a member of the gold medal-winning Russian team at the World Team Chess Championship in Antalya in 2013.
Extra Info :
Other players in the tournament were Russia’s Peter Svidler, Veselin Topalov of Bulgaria, Hikaru Nakamura of the US, Levon Aronian of Armenia and Anish Giri of the Netherlands.
So now lets discuss some questions related to this article which can be asked in the upcoming exams :
1. Name the player who has won the 2016 World Chess Candidates Tournament ?
2. The World Chess Candidates Tournament has held at which place ?
3. The Chess player Sergey Karjakin is from which country ?
Courtesy : RT News 

Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *