Services beat Maharashtra 2-1 to retain Santosh Trophy

Services  won the Santosh Trophy National Football Championships title. In the summit clash at SEC Railway Stadium in Nagpur, Services defeated host Maharashtra 2-1. 

Arjun Tudu, a national camper for the SAFF Cup in 2015, scored twice in the space of 11 minutes (26th and 37th) to help Services clinch their fifth title overall. Services took away 5 lakh rupees for winning the tournament while Maharashtra got 3 lakh rupees for finishing runners-up.

Santosh Trophy is an annual Indian football tournament which is contested by states and government institutions. The first winners were Bengal, who also lead the all-time winners list with 31 titles to date. The tournament first began in 1941, and was the premier football competition in the country before the National Football League started in the year 1996. The trophy as named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, which is now in Bangladesh, who had been the President of the Indian Football Association, the football organisation of Bengal and the donators of the trophy.

Extra info:
Services took home Rs. 5 lakh prize money for winning the tournament while Maharashtra got Rs. 3 lakh for finishing runners-up.
Maharashtra surged ahead in the 15th minute. A diagonal pass from Mervin Stephen’s outstep of the right foot from outside the box was just perfect.

So lets do:
Santosh Trophy associated to which game?
Which teame won Santosh Trophy 2016?

Source – Time of India


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *