Sher Bahadur Deuba elected Nepal’s Prime Minister for the fourth time

Veteran Nepalese politician Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected as Nepal’s Prime Minister for the fourth time. Deuba, 70, was the sole candidate to contest in the Prime Minister election as the main opposition UML or any other party didn’t register their candidacies.

He secured 388 votes in his favor and 170 votes against him. A total of 558 were cast during the voting. He needed 297 votes in the 593-strong Parliament to prove his majority. The Nepali Congress leader has become the 40th Prime Minister of Nepal.
The post of Prime Minister fell vacant after Maoist leader Prachanda resigned in May under a power-sharing deal with the Nepali Congress leader. Mr. Deuba served as the prime minister from 1995 to 1997, from 2001 to 2002, and from 2004 to 2005.
Static Takeaways for IBPS PO Exam-
  • The Central Bank of Nepal is called as Nepal Rashtra Bank (NRB)
  • NRB was established in 1956 under the Nepal Rastra Bank Act 1955
  • Dr. Chiranjibi Nepal is the present Governor of NRB
Source- The Hindu


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *