Social Security Agreement between India and Brazil

India and Brazil initialed the text of the Social Security Agreement (SSA) in Brazil. This SSA is an outcome of the meetings of BRICS Labour & Employment Ministers held on 9 June 2016 in Geneva and on 27-28 September 2016 in New Delhi.

The SSA between India and Brazil once in force by early 2018 will be the first such agreement between the BRICS countries.

As per the agreed text, detached workers of the two countries are exempted from making social security contributions in either countries so long as they were making such contributions in their respective countries.

Takeaways from above news:

  • BRICS countries are Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa
  • South Africa was included in BRICS countries in 2010
  • First official BRICS summit was held in Yekaterinburg, Russia
  • 8th BRICS Summit was held in Goa in October 2016
Source- The Hindu

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *